Jefferson City is the only state capital named for a Vice President.

  • Missouri state capitol
Missouri state capitol
Credit: Bill Grant/ Alamy Stock Photo

Of the 50 U.S. capital cities, only one is named after a person who held the role of Vice President of the United States: Jefferson City, Missouri. The eponym of this Midwest metropolis is Thomas Jefferson, who served under John Adams from 1797 to 1801 as the country’s second-ever Vice President. Jefferson later became President himself, and in 1803, he acquired the land that is now Missouri as part of the Louisiana Purchase. In 1821 — the year Missouri achieved statehood — the legislature selected a site to serve as the state capital, and settled on the name Jefferson City to honor the man who had purchased the land to begin with. (The legislature briefly considered naming the capital “Missouriopolis,” though that idea ultimately did not win out.)

Jefferson City is also one of just four state capitals named after a former U.S. President. The others are Jackson, Mississippi, which was also founded in 1821 and named for then-Major General Andrew Jackson; Madison, Wisconsin, which was founded in 1836 and named after founding father James Madison, who died that year; and Lincoln, Nebraska, which was renamed after Abraham Lincoln in 1869, four years after his assassination.

You may also like